Exploring Learning, Research and Education

I am a student in the Master of Arts in Learning and Technology program at Royal Roads University.  While my blog will be an important medium by which I communicate my ideas, thought and theories for my studies; I hope this blog will evolve and further explore learning, research and education in it’s relationship to experiential education at post secondary institutions across Canada.

As a Co-operative Education Coordinator, I am very much interested in the role that Experiential Education plays in the development of a student’s learning while attending universities and colleges throughout the country.  Historically, experiential education has been viewed as a “non-academic or service” component of an institution. I want to explore:

  • Value of experiential learning
  • The learning that students receive through experiential education
  • The linkage of experiential learning and its effects in the classroom
  • The pedagogical value of experiential education for students in the 21st century
I do not see academics in the classroom and experiential education as mutually exclusive to one another.  Instead, I see both forms of education as complimenting one another and  providing students with the best access to learning, research and education.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

